Sharpay’s Great Adventure transcript

Sharpay’s Great Adventure transcript

LA junket Saturday April 1st, 2011

Ashley Tisdale transcript

 

What’s the best thing about playing Sharpay?

She’s a lot of fun. She’s larger than life. Taking her from the High School Musical series and then putting her in her own film was definitely a challenge. You had to have people fall in love with her and root for her, whereas before you loved to hate her. I loved going through that with that character. I feel like she’s given me a lot.

Tell us about the message of the film.

There are a lot of lessons in the film, and one of the main ones is to always believe in yourself. The film is very true to someone who’s trying to make it in show business. There are totally those moments where you forget you’re strong enough and you have something to put out there. Sharpay forgets, and she starts assisting Amber Lee Adams, and that’s not Sharpay. Sharpay would never do that. I love how Peyton’s like, ‘This is not the girl that I met. You’re now doing things because you’re not believing in yourself’. I hope that people go, ‘Oh my gosh, if I want to do something, I should just believe in myself and keep going and don’t let anybody stop me!’

Are you sick of pink?

When I started playing Sharpay, I didn’t even realize but I just stopped buying pink. I don’t have a lot of pink things. I can get away with it more being brunette, but if I’m blonde, it just reminds me of Sharpay!

What do you like best, being blonde or brunette?

Brunette.

Do you have a dog?

I do. A teacup Maltipoo called Maui.

You were the executive producer as well as the star of this movie. What’s your advice for girls who want to be as multi-talented as you?

You should definitely follow your dreams if you’re really passionate about them. You shouldn’t do lots of different stuff if you’re not passionate about it. People keep asking, ‘When is your next album out?’ but I’m not really in my music phase right now, I’m in my acting thing. I also love producing, that’s why I’m producing now. Follow your dreams, it comes with hard work but you’ve just gotta keep on going and believing in yourself.

So did you suggest Austin Butler should be in this movie?

I did! I’d worked with him before and felt like he was a great guy. I called him up and was like, ‘Can you do me a favour? Can you star in a movie with me?’ [laughs]. It’s fun being a producer because then you can produce things with your friends in it, it’s really cool.

Do you still enjoy watching TV and movies, or does being an actor ruin it for you?

Oh no. I’m still someone who gets totally lost in it. I just love getting into it. I’m a big fan of Kate Hudson and Cameron Diaz. I like learning stuff about how they play their characters, and then throw my stuff into it as well.

If you could be or dress up as any Disney character, who would it be?

I like Sharpay! [laughs]. I’ve never been asked that before. Probably… Tinkerbell? She’s fun.

What do you like doing better; singing, dancing or acting?

I love acting. There was a point in my life when I had to choose, when I was younger. I had done the national tour of Les Miserables and I was 8, and then it was like, am I going to go into music and go on Broadway, or am I going to do acting? I chose acting. I was lucky enough to have something come along where I could do my acting as well. Now I get to do everything, which is great!

What’s life like as a celebrity?

I don’t think of myself as a celebrity. I was really lucky because I didn’t have success until I was 19 years old, so I had already done regular school my whole life, and I’d worked in clothing stores. Even though I was in the business since I was 3, I loved to work. There are some people who do love just being famous, but that’s not me. It’s definitely a challenge dealing with the paparazzi. I do not want to know for going to get coffee, I want to be known for the projects that I do!

How did it change your life being famous, when you were 19.

I feel for the people who are young and get successful at 16 years old, they really haven’t had a normal life. There’s a lot of pressure, if you’re not older and mature and know how to deal with that stuff. I’m so glad I was not 16 when I got successful. I could deal with a lot more being older. I had that whole teenage rebellion thing before. It got busy – my life got busier. Nothing else changed, just people recognised me a lot more. It’s changed but I don’t feel like I’ve changed.

How would you describe your personal style?

It can vary, from really beachy/ California, to bohemian, to chic. Clothes are an expression of how I feel that day. My Mom went to fashion college, so I’ve always loved clothes.

Who are you favourite designers?

I love Louis Vuitton, J Brand, Elizabeth and James, Rebecca Taylor. I love a lot of stuff [laughs].

Do you still hang out with your High School Musical friends?

Yeah, all the time! I just got back from Vancouver and went out for dinner with Zac, and I saw Vanessa before.

Are they your best friends?

Yes, definitely.

What do you guys get up to when you hang out?

We go to dinner, we hang out, we go to the movies. We like to hang out at each other’s places. We’re kind of boring [laughs].

Sharpay loves to spurge, what’s your biggest splurge?

My Rolex watch.

Who were your role models growing up?

My mum. Growing up, I loved Britney Spears, I loved going to her concerts, but I really looked up to my Mum. I’m the biggest fan of my Mum. She’s my best friend. I’ve always looked up to her and looked to her for advice.

What’s the sweetest thing a fan has ever said to you?

I love the youngest fans. They say the funniest things. Kids have no filter – they’re just so honest. I was in Palm Springs and this little girl came up to me and said, ‘Are you Ashley Tisdale, because you have her face’ [laughs].

Do you still see Zack and Cody from Suite Life?

I do. I took them out to dinner recently – they’re so much older, it’s crazy. I called Dylan (Zack) the other day, and he was like [deep voice] “Hey Ashley”. Their voices have changed drastically, it’s so funny.

Did you have fun when you were in Australia with High School Musical?

Yeah, I love Australia! We climbed the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Each of us were having such a different experience of it. Zac could live on top of that bridge, but Vanessa was freaking out and Monique was scared to death. They were definitely the ones that cried. I had to calm them down – I was okay, but it was still nerve racking.

What’s the most fabulous adventure you’ve been on?

I’d just got out of a relationship, and it was one of those moments in my life where I needed to have a freeing experience. I went to Europe to promote Guilty Pleasure. I had the time of my life. I grew up a lot as well. It was two weeks of travelling all over Italy and Spain and Germany. I was with my band and it was just such an amazing experience. All the best food too.

 

PULL QUOTES

 

Austin Butler

 

“Ashley is beautiful and really fun. It’s easy to fall in love with that onscreen. But in real life she’s like my sister, so it was a challenge to be like, ‘Okay you’re like my sister but we’re doing romantic things!'”

 

“I think people fell in love with Sharpay because of her honesty. She’s not censored. All the things that she says she wants are things normal people feel, but they just don’t say it because it’s not appropriate. Sharpay will just go out and say it. And you love that about her.”

 

Cameron Butler

 

“I absolutely love Ashley’s comedic timing and ability. I learned so much from her. I don’t think she even realizes how funny she is!”

 

// ends //

 

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Pop culture. Bookmark the permalink.