Demi Lovato transcript

Copyright Georgia Clark 2010

Demi Lovato Camp Rock 2

Press junket. New York City.

You’re heading to Australia at the end of the year – is there anything in particular you’re looking forward to doing?

I’ve never been to Australia, but I would love to do some sightseeing and meet some people. I’m friends with The Veronicas, so maybe if they’re there, I’ll hang out with them.

Do you know much about Australia?

I don’t know much about it. I was homeschooled, and didn’t do much in geography. [laughs] Oh wait, actually I do know that within every fifty feet, there’s a really deadly animal or insect. So, kinda scared!

In the final dance scene, you wore this gorgeous dress, but we hear it was really cold on set.

Yeah, it was as thin as silk.

How did you stay warm and focussed?

I had head pads in my bra. You stick ’em all over the place – it was freezing. It was so cold. It’s very hard to focus, very hard to sing, very hard to perform, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

What was your favourite outfit in Camp Rock 2?

I don’t really remember. I love wearing dresses, boots. It was a while ago when we shot this.

In the film, your character Mitchie takes charge – do you like being a leader?

Oh, I love being a leader, yeah definitely. I like to take charge and be in control of things and kind of leave the audience.

The theme of the film is it doesn’t matter if you win or lose, it’s how you play the game. Is that relevant to you?

For sure. You’re in control of your life and the choices that you make depend on that. You’re in control of your happiness too, so if you choose to be happy, you’ll be happy.

What makes you instantly happy?

Boys! [laughs]

What kind of boys?

All kinds of boys. I’m really into hip-hop guys lately. That’s something totally that I would never have gone for. Trey Songz is fine.

What is it about them that you like?

Just their swagger. Their confidence. Rocker dudes don’t have a lot of swag.

What did you guys do when you weren’t filming?

We’d hang out together, we’d get together, go out to eat. Just normal stuff, nothing crazy.

What’s the best compliment you’ve been given lately?

I really think that all compliments are amazing. My fans are incredible, they say the nicest things to me.

You’re the national spokesperson for Teens Against Bullying. Why is that important to you?

It’s really important to me because nowadays with social networking sites, people have more access to verbally harass people, and that’s something that will affect someone for the rest of your life. It’s something that changed my life, and it needs to be stopped. There’s so many kids nowadays too, even nine year olds, who are taking their own lives, and that’s scary. Something needs to be done.

Do you remember your first day of school?

All I remember is I’d pick out a really cute outfit!

What was it like appearing on Grey’s Anatomy?

Grey’s Anatomy was amazing. It’s like my favourite TV show. I had a really great time filming it. It was fun!

Your dance sequences are incredible, was it harder or easier this time around?

The faster it is, the harder it is, so this one was probably harder, but it was the funnest. I had a good time.

Would you like to do Camp Rock 3?

Yeah, I’d love to.

What would you like to have happen?

I don’t know! Maybe come back as a counsellor.

// ends //

 

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Women and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

