Van She, Mercy Arms

Civic Hotel, City, Friday, December 9

Brag: Who are you hear to see?

Boy 1: Van She! I heard them on the radio, they sounded cool, so I thought I’d check ’em out.

Brag: What about Mercy Arms?

Boy 1: Mercy Arms… Did they just support The Kills?

Brag: Nah that was Damn Arms.

Boy 1: Then I have no idea who they are.

 

Brag: What did you think of Van She?

Girl 1: I like their pulsating rhythms and synths of post-punk goodness.

Brag: And you?

Girl 2: They’re alright, but I think they’re more of a radio band than a live band.

 

Brag: Which band did you like better?

Boy 2: It’s hard, because guitarist and drummer from Mercy Arms are 10/10, but Van She – Phil Collins’ only son, onstage at last – you can’t really beat that.

Brag: What do you make of the crowd here?

Boy 2: Tsubi’s like Jesus: it’s made for people on the North Shore. End quote.

 

Brag: What’d you think of Van She?

Boy 3: Great single, second last track, but the last one they did was a bit…

Girl 3: I concur!

Boy 3: You like the last one? You didn’t think it was too Killerish?

Girl 3: I thought it was fun.

Brag: What did you think of Mercy Arms?

Girl 3: They need to be a little bit tighter, but overall they were fine.

Boy 4: We need more pompoms, a leopard on a leash and way more aerobics…

Girl 3: And they need to sort out their outfits. And main the guy in Van She, Nick – he needs to wear a lemon-coloured shirt.

 

Brag: Who did you like better, Mercy Arms or Van She?

Boy 5: Mercy Arms. Van She sound too much like The Presets.

Brag: So out of ten, what do you rate the night as?

Boy 5: I’m here for a root and if I get one I’ll give it a nine, if not, a six and a half. My balls are as big as coconuts. Do you know anyone up for it?

Oh, and what do I think? Technical problems aside, Kieran Callinan [guitarist, Mercy Arms] was the best thing onstage all night and spots seem to be making a statement this summer.

Georgia Clark

 

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Music, Pop culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

