Project Runway: Celluloid Dreams

We asked the remaining designers about their cinematic aspirations – if they had a chance to style a film, what would it be like?

Juli: I would love to do a film set in Paris.  The women in Paris are very chic, so it would be a challenge for me to design a whole look for a French actress. I loved the recent film Priceless, the clothes were divine and Audrey Tautou would be a wonderful, inspiring muse.

Lui: Something related to the future.

Leigh: A blockbuster musical, directed by Baz Luhrmann, staring Cate Blanchet, Kylie and Magda Szubanski who are all my grooms-maids when I marry James McAvoy in a hilarious all-singing, all-dancing romp with lots of sparkle (but not tacky – just a Scottish boy standing in front of a Aussie boy, asking him to love him).

Brent: Endless Summer and boardshorts.

Helen: I’d love to do Priscilla, because of the extravagant costumes, and over-the-top make-up and personalities. A lot of my friends are gay guys who have a very funny sense of humour. Priscilla just epitomizes my ethos on life as well.

Petrova: A teenage makeover movie, directed by Michel Gondry that’s a cross between Funny Face, Dirty Dancing and Clueless. It’d feature elaborate dance routines and bright costumes. Zooey Deschanel would play the female lead, and Gael Garcia Bunel would be the male lead, and it’d also star Charlotte Gainsborg and of course Sophie Spalding, playing herself. Mine would be a pretty trippy film!

Georgia Clark

 

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Copywriting, Pop culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

