Interview: Leigh Buchanan

How is the whole experience different to your initial expectations of being on a TV show?

This is NOTHING like I’d expected!! I’d only seen a couple of the American episodes and thought it looked easy – ha! Was I wrong… It’s so intense, exhausting and draining – but we’re having a lot of fun along the way. Getting to meet the other amazing contestants was life changing. I expected bitchiness and rivalry, but we’re helping each other so much along the way and I’m forming some very strong friendships. I didn’t think I’d have such amazing mood swings – it was bizarre how the littlest things could turn me into a monster!!! I’ll never do reality TV again (unless I’m the host!)

Apart from other designers, name your top five current inspirations, and why they get your creative juices flowing.

At the moment I’m reading Beau Brummel: The Ultimate Dandy (and loving it!) I love the Art Deco and Pre-Raphaelite periods, and have always been inspired by foreign countries and cultures, especially Egypt, Ancient Rome and the Orient. Antique and old clothing also inspires, as well as music – Rufus Wainwright is a current fave!!!

If you had the chance to style a film, what would it be like?

My film would definitely be a blockbuster musical, directed by Baz Luhrmann, staring Cate Blanchet, Kylie and Magda Szubanski who are all my grooms-maids when I marry James Mcavoy in a hilarious all-singing, all-dancing romp with lots of sparkle (but not tacky, really just a Scottish boy standing in front of a Aussie boy, asking him to love him).

Georgia Clark

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Copywriting, Pop culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

