Interview: Juli Grbac

Question: What did winning this week’s challenge mean to you?

Answer: Winning this challenge was amazing. I love making beautiful dresses, and so I really pushed myself. Seeing Sarita gliding down the runway looking like a goddess has by far been my proudest moment on Project Runway so far.

Question: What inspires you?

Answer: Travel. When I am in a new city I can just sit and people watch for hours – looking at the way people wear their clothes, their hair and their makeup. I get inspired by colour. I only use flat colours, not prints, but if I see a new Fuchsia, or a gorgeous electric blue I am always inspired to create. I also love crystals and frills, so if I can think of a new way of using them, or a new Swarovski crystal comes out, you can be sure to see them on any Grbac garment!

Question: How is the whole experience different to your initial expectations of being on a TV show?

Answer: I enjoyed the show more than I thought that I would. It was hard being in lock down, but we all got on really well and I made some amazing friends. I loved being able to create for 10 hours straight without any interruptions.

Question: Looking forward, who do you see your biggest competition on the show?

Answer: I love Mark’s designs, very simple and chic. Petrova is also one to watch, her designs are tricky, gorgeous and so clever.

Georgia Clark

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Copywriting, Pop culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

