Interview: Claudia Navone

Catwalk Talk with this week’s guest judge, Claudia Navone, Fashion director of Harper’s Bazaar

Your take on the designs you were judging?

I was surprised by the very good general standard of the candidates, but some of the designers weren’t really thinking about what women would like to wear and feel comfortable with, which is essential if you want to succeed in this business.

A typical day in the life of a fashion editor is:

Very hectic! I have to look after the entire fashion department of Harper’s Bazaar so there is never a dull day – lots of personalities and dramas of all kinds. There are endless meetings and appointments all over town, and events in the evening most nights.

If you could style anyone, who would it be?

The French actress and icon, Catherine Deneuve. She’s an incredible beautiful woman with the most amazing style. I have been obsessed with her since I saw her in the 1960’s movie ‘Belle Du Jour’ dressed by another icon of mine, Yves Saint Laurent.

Current international trends we’ll be seeing here next season?

Sculptured clothings; boho gypsy style; soft tailoring; gothic.

Most exciting moment in your career so far?

Probably when I was asked to work with Helmut Newton. At first I thought it was a joke, but when I finally did it was one of the most enriching experiences in my career.

Devil Wears Prada: Hollywood nonsense or accurate satire?

I would say pretty accurate – but not in my office!

Georgia Clark

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Copywriting, Pop culture, Women and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

