Final Blog: Wes

Yeah, just wanna say, thank you first of all to everyone who’s voted for me over the last 12 weeks – nah it’s even more than that – 14 weeks, from Top 24. It’s been an unbelievable ride. I couldn’t thank you enough. It’s strange sitting in the studio now; everything’s been packed up and it’s like a completely different room. Just a week ago there was about 800 people there, now there’s nothing. Now it’s just one massive room that’s under construction. It really does feel like an end of an era, but at the same time, the start of the start of something completely new and exciting.

We’ve been rehearsing with the other ten guys this week and it’s great to see them all again. Feels like ages since September 14 when Top 12 kicked off, and that was my birthday. So being 26 has definitely started on a high! I

I wanna thank all my family and friends who have flown up to see me over the weeks, as well as my girlfriend, Charlie, whose been unbelievablely supportive throughout the whole journey.

Luke and I joked at the start of the Top 12 it would be funny if he and I would be standing at the Opera House together, and it was quite a running joke, but as the weeks went on, it became closer and we started to think maybe it really would happen. And it has. I’m proud of myself for walking into that audition room. I’ve absolutely no regrets, and I’ve definitely come further than I thought I would. I can’t encourage musicians enough next year to enter Australian Idol. Don’t think it’s uncool, and don’t be a snob about it, because it does start a career for you and it challenges you musically, personally and professionally.

For me, I felt like I’ve reached my main goal already. Even if I don’t win the crown, I’m honoured to be sharing it with a man of such integrity, Luke Dickens.

Can’t wait to get my music out there next year; hopefully I do you guys proud with my first release, and I’ll definitely be hurrying that along.

I can safely say that I’ve been completely honest throughout this competition. You guys have seen everything I can do and I hope that you enjoyed it.

I wanna thank all the producers, the crew, the judges, the stylist team, the make-up girls, the hair girls, the website team, the runners, Sam at the house, the security guys, production, all the radio and media people who we’ve spoken to who have been so lovely, everyone at Channel Ten and Fremantle, and everybody else who I left out.

Stay cool, stay true,

Love Wes.

Interview by Georgia Clark

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Copywriting, Music, Pop culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

