Top Love Life Advice from the Top 40

Copyright Georgia Clark 2010

This month we let popular music be our Love Guru!

Guy Sebastian “Art of Love”

Guy says: “I’m saying sorry in advance cos this won’t always go to plan

Though we don’t mean to take our love for granted

It’s in our nature to forget what matters”

Subject: Keeping love alive and always appreciating your boo.

Lesson learned: After the initial ‘honeymoon’ phase of a relationship wears off, so can the constant attention and affection we lavish on our sweethearts. This means that though Guy has been with his lady for a gazillion years, he’s ‘still learning the art of love’. The lesson here is being a good boyfriend or girlfriend doesn’t stop as soon as you guys are a thing – it’s an ongoing process. But while its difficult, it’s ‘always getting better’. Awww! Guy hides his heart in his fro, because it’s just that big.

Ke$ha “Blah Blah Blah”

Ke$ha says: Stop, talk, talk, talking that blah, blah, blah

Think you’ll be getting this nah, nah, nah

Not in the back of my car, ah, ah

If you keep talking that blah, blah, blah, blah, blah

Subject: Boys who talk too much

Lesson learned: Apart from this song’s amazing ability to bring the party anywhere, anytime, it also flips that dumb cliché about girls talking too much on its head. Girls communicate, boys ramble, and sometimes they just need to shut the heck up! You feel us? Ke$ha does!

Jessica Mauboy “Let Me Be”

Jess says: “Love means learning to let me go and spread my wings

You let me grow and live life, you gotta let me be

Let me be me”

Subject: The importance of being independent in a relationship.

Lesson learned: Like every switched on chick, Jess knows that being in love with someone doesn’t mean trying to control them or restrict their freedom. She sings about her guy setting goals for her that she doesn’t want to make – a classic example of someone who doesn’t accept their honey for who they are. The lesson learned here is that love often means letting someone be – to enjoy the way they are, and not try and change it. Jess is like a hot version of Dr Phil. Awesome.

Jason DeRulo “In My Head”

Jase says: “Just leave with me now, say the word and we’ll go.

I’ll be your teacher, I’ll show you the ropes.

You’ll see a side of love you’ve never known.

I can see it going down, going down.”

Subject. Sexytimes. Lots of sexytimes.

Lesson learned: We’d love to tell you Jason DeRulo is a talented poet capable of deep insight and clever metaphors, but let’s face it: this song may be hella catchy but it’s pretty much about what 99% of d-floor classics are about – hooking up. Not that there’s anything wrong with that!

Justin Bieber “Baby”

Justin says: “For you, I would have done whatever

And I just can’t believe, we ain’t together

And I wanna play it cool,

But I’m losin’ you

I’ll buy you anything,

I’ll buy you any ring”

Subject: Brokenness of heart.

Lesson learned: The lesson here is that even hotties like JB can get their hearts ripped out of their chests and tossed on the ground. The lesson here is not to treat your boy badly cuz even though he mumbled he was “cool” about the break-up, he’s actually at home crying into his XBox. And the lesson here is that not everyone can do everything – Justin popping in this video? That’s actually heartbreaking for everyone.

About Georgia

I'm a young adult novelist with a weakness for hot nerds and cheese platters, not necessarily in that order. I am currently working on my third novel. I'm pretty excited about having just turned 30 because it means I can justify spending a lot of time thinking about homewares.
This entry was posted in Dating, Teen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

